Tanning Legislation in 2019

Since 2005, AIM has worked with state officials, politicians, and lobbyists across the country to pass indoor tanning legislation in each state. Our efforts have led to 21 states and the District of Columbia passing some form of an under 18 indoor tanning ban to protect our youth from harmful UV rays emitted by tanning devices. To find out how you can help, email Samantha Guild, Director of Education, Public Policy, and Advocacy at Sguild@AIMatMelanoma.org

2019 State by State Comparison
Updated September 2019

2019 Indoor Tanning Legislation

Arizona

SB 1119

Would prohibit minors under 21 from indoor tanning devices.

SB 1298

Would prohibit minors under 16 from indoor tanning devices. Requires parental consent for 16 and 17 year olds.

SB 1341

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Requires signed consent form by customers before initial use and each year thereafter. Provides for operator training and oversight.

Indiana

HB 1293

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Iowa

HF 283

Would prohibit minors under 16 from indoor tanning devices.

Maine

LD 1297

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Requires signed consent form by customers before initial use and each year thereafter. Provides for operator training and oversight.

Signed into Law 6/13/19

Maryland

HB 124

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

SB 299

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

HB 124 / SB 299; Approved by Governor 5/14/19

Michigan

HB 4205

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Requires signed consent form by customers before initial use and each year thereafter.

Mississippi

HB 1191

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Also provides for operator training and oversight.

SB 2847

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Also provides for operator training and oversight.

Missouri

HB 518

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

SB 419

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Also, requires for licensing and signage.

Montana

SB 21

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Nebraska

LB140

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

New Jersey

A 5409

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Also, provides for other requirements.

New Mexico

HB 421

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices. Requires signed consent form by customers before initial use and each year thereafter. Provides for operator training and oversight.

 

Ohio

HB 329 Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

South Carolina

H 3807

Would prohibit minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

 

State Laws with Tanning Restrictions for Minors

Alabama

Law: Code of Alabama 1975 Section 22-17B-2

Age Restriction: Under 15, 15, 16-17

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 15 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician. Requires 15-year-olds to provide parent/guardian in-person written consent and the parent/guardian is present at the facility during the use of the device. Requires 16 and 17-year-olds to provide parent/guardian in-person written consent.

Arizona

Law: AZ Admin. Code R12-1-1414 A2

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors under 18.

Arkansas

Law: Ark. Stat. Ann. 20-27-2202

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors under 18.

California

Law: CA Bus. and Prof. Code 22706 (b) (3) and (4)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

As of Jan. 1, 2012, CA was the first state in the nation to ban use of UV indoor tanning devices for ALL minors under 18.

Connecticut

Law: Conn. Gen. Stat. § 19a-232

Age Restriction: Under 17

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices.

Delaware

Law: Del. Code Ann. tit, 16 § 30D

Age Restriction:  Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

District of Columbia

Law: DC Act 20-549

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Florida

Law: FL Stat. Ann. § 381.89 (1998)

Age Restriction: Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details: Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 14 on all visits. Requires parent/guardian written consent for minors between 14-18.

Georgia

Law: GA Code Ann. § 31-38-8 (2010)

Age Restriction: Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices. Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors 14 years of age or over but under 18 years of age.

Hawaii

Law: HRS § 321-12.2

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Idaho

Law: ID Code Section 18 – 1523

Age Restriction: Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from tanning devices. Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors 14 until 18.  Allows minors to use tanning devices when authorized by a physician’s prescription.

Illinois

Law: IL Admin. Code  Title 77; Sec. 795.190 (c)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Indiana

Law: IN Code Ann. § 25-8-15.4-16

Age Restriction: Under 16; 16 and 17

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices. Minors 16 and 17 require parent/guardian in-person written consent.

Kansas

Law: Kan. Stat. Ann.  1931 (2016)

Age Restriction:  Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Kentucky

Law: KRS Chapter 217.922

Age Restriction: Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details: Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14. Requires parent/guardian written consent for someone under 18.  The consent is valid for 1 calendar year.

Louisiana

Law: LA Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:2707

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devic

Maine

Law: 10-144 Dept. of Human Services ch. 223 12A (3)(f)

Age Restriction: Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices. Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors 14 years of age and older. Valid for 1 year. Parent/guardian must accompany minors 14 and 15 years of age when tanning equipment in use.

Effective: 90 days after adjournment (adjournment was June 20)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Maryland

Law: Md. Health Code Ann. § 20-106

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Parent/guardian must give in-person written consent for a minor to use tanning devices.

Effective: 10/1/19:

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Massachusetts

Law: MA Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 111 Public Health § 211

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibit minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Michigan

Law: MI Comp. Laws Ann. § 333.13405

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Requires in-person consent for minors under 18. Valid for 1 year.

Minnesota

Law: MN Stat. Ann. § 325H.085

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Mississippi

Law: Miss Code Ann. § 41-115-1

Age Restriction: Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details: Parent/guardian must accompany minor under 14 during the entire time that the minor uses a tanning device at the tanning facility. Requires in-person written consent for minors under 18.  Valid for 1 year and must specify the number of sessions.

Missouri

Law: RSMo Section 577.665.1

Age Restriction: Under 17

Ban Details:  Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent annually for minors under 17.

Nebraska

Law: NE Laws 2014, LB132, §4-6

Age Restriction: Under 16

Ban Details:  Requires minors under 16 be accompanied by a parent/guardian and the parent/guardian before each use provides in-person written consent.

Nevada

Law: NRS 597.7617

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details:  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

New Hampshire

Law: NH Rev. Stat. Ann. § tit. XXX 313-A:31

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details:  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

New Jersey

Law: NJ Rev. Stat. § C. 26:2D-82.1

Age Restriction: Under 17; Under 14

Ban Details:  Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices. 17 year olds must obtain parent/guardian written consent. Prohibits minors under 14 from using spray tan.

New York

Law: NY Public Health Law Article 35-A ch. 3555

Age Restriction: under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

North Carolina

Laws:  NC Gen. Stat.§ 104E-9.1   HB 158 / S.L. 2015-21 (= S125)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

North Dakota

Law: ND Cent. Code § Health and Safety Chapter 23-39

Age Restriction: Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices without a physician’s written prescription. Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 14 on all visits. Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors under 18. Valid for 12 months.

Ohio

Law: OH Admin. Code 4713-19-09 (B)

Age Restriction: Under 16; Under 18

Ban Details: Under 16 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian each time. Ages 16-17 requires in-person written consent for 90-days, but not for more than 45 visits.

Oklahoma

Law: 63 OK Stat § 63-7302 (2018)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Oregon

Law: OAR 333-119-0090 (2)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician.

Pennsylvania

Law: 2014 Act No. 41

Age Restriction: Under 17; 17

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices. Requires parent/guardian written consent for 17 year olds.

Rhode Island

Law: Dept. of Health Rules and Regulations for the Registration of Tanning Facilities Part III; Sec. 9.5

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

South Carolina

Law: SC Code Ann. § ch. 61, sec. 106-3.7.1

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors under 18.

Tennessee

Law: TN Code Ann. § 68-117-104

Age Restriction: Under 16; 14-18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 16 from indoor tanning devices. A person between 16 and 18 years of age shall be accompanied by the person’s parent or legal guardian when using a tanning device who must sign a warnings statement. For subsequent visits, the person between 16 and 18 years of age may use a tanning device at that tanning facility without the parent/guardian present on a subsequent visit as long as the signed statement remains on file with the tanning facility.

Texas

Law: TX Health and Safety Code Ann. § 145.008

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Utah

Law: UT Code Ann. § 26-15-13

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Parent/guardian must accompany minors under 18 at each visit. Prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from using a tanning device unless the minor (i) has a written order from a physician or (ii) at each time of use the minor is accompanied by a parent/guardian who provides written consent authorizing the minor to use the tanning device.

Vermont

Law: Title 18 V.S.A. § 1513

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Virginia

Law: VA Code § 59.1-310.3

Age Restriction: Under 15

Ban Details: Requires parent/guardian written consent for unemancipated minors under 15. Valid for 6 months.

Washington

Law: WA Title 18 RCW Business and Professions Chapter 18, 370

Age Restriction: Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician.

West Virginia

Law: W.V. Code Ann. §16-45-3

HB 2520

Age Restriction:  Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Wisconsin

Law: WI Code Ann. § 463.25(9)(a)

Age Restriction: Under 16

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices.

Wyoming

Law: W.S. 14-3-108

Age Restriction: Under 15; 15-18

Ban Details: Requires parent/guardian accompany minor under 15 on all visits, sign in-person consent, and is present the entire time of use. Requires parent/guardian in-person written consent for minors age 15 to the age of majority. Consent is valid for 12 months.

Source: AIM at Melanoma, StateNet, and NCSL, 2006-2008
Note: List may not be comprehensive but is representative of the state laws that exist. AIM appreciates additions and corrections. Contact us at sguild@AIMatMelanoma.org.

Please keep me informed.

Receive comprehensive, breaking news about melanoma, research, legislation, and events.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.