Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU Langone Health

Perlmutter Cancer Center is the NCI-designated comprehensive cancer center at NYU Langone Health, one of the nation’s premier academic medical centers. Perlmutter Cancer Center serves the metro NYC area and our doctors treat patients in facilities located in Manhattan, Brooklyn, Queens and Long Island.

Date: Saturday – October 23, 2021
Time:  8:30 AM (ET)| 7:30 AM (CT) | 6:30 AM (MT) | 5:30 AM (PT)
(double-check your local time with this time zone converter)
Location:  This symposium is a hybrid event. Proof of vaccination will be required if attending in person. In-person attendance is limited to 51 people and everyone must be masked at all times while in the building.

Presenters & Topics

8:30 AM ET

In-Person Registration

9:00 AM ET

Welcome and Introductions

9:05 AM ET

How Melanoma Develops: Causes and Pathology
George Jour, MD
Clinical Associate Professor, Department of Pathology, NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Clinical Associate Professor, Ronald O. Perelman Department of Dermatology, NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Director, Molecular Pathology Fellowship Program
Associate Director, Molecular Pathology Laboratory

9:25 AM ET

How Melanoma Can Be Cured Surgically
Richard Shapiro, MD
Professor, Department of Surgery at NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Director, Surgical Oncology Operations, Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center

9:55 AM ET

Break

10:05 AM ET

Can We Prevent Melanoma from Returning After it is Surgically Removed?
Jeffrey S. Weber, MD, PhD
Deputy Director, Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center
Co-Director, Melanoma Program & Head of Experimental Therapeutics

10:25 AM ET

Can Melanoma be Cured Even if it Spreads Widely and Metastasizes?
Janice Mehnert, MD
Professor, Department of Medicine at NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Associate Director, Clinical Research, Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center

10:45 AM ET

What Are the Critical Psychosocial Issues for Melanoma Patients?
Kathleen M. Madden, MSN, FNP-BC, AOCNP®, APHN
Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center

11:05 AM ET

Resources for Patients
Samantha Guild
President, AIM at Melanoma Foundation

11:10 AM ET

Q&A
Entire Panel