Tanning Legislation in 2015

2015 State by State Comparison
Updated March 2015

2015 Indoor Tanning Legislation

Arizona

HB 2493 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Florida

SB 0376  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless a health care provider prescribes use of the device to treat a medical condition and there is a statement signed by the minor’s parent/guardian and witnessed by the operator or proprietor of the tanning facility.

Idaho

HB 177 Prohibits minors under 14 from tanning devices. Requires written parent/guardian in-person consent for minors 14 until 18.  Allows minors to use tanning devices when authorized by a physician’s prescription.

Signed into law:  March 23, 2015

Effective:  July 1, 2015

Iowa

SF 40  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SSB 1038 Would study the issue of teen tanning.

HSB 81 Would study the issue of teen tanning.

HB 150 Prohibit minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Kansas

HB 2369 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Kentucky

HB 252 Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Maine

LD 123 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Maryland

HB 56 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 152 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Minnesota

HF 1869  Repeals the under 18 ban and would allow a parent/guardian to consent for a minor under 18 to use a tanning device.

Mississippi

SB 2042 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HB 673 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Montana

HB 130 Requires minors under 18 provide in-person parent/guardian written consent to use tanning devices at a tanning facility.  The consent form must include the number of times, up to 12 times a year, that the minor may use a device. The consent form expires after 12 months.

SB 125 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

New Hampshire

HB 136 Prohibits minors under 18 from tanning devices in a tanning facility.

North Carolina

SB 125  Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

Oklahoma

HB 1471 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 508 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

South Dakota

HB 1166 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

State Laws with Tanning Restrictions for Minors

Alabama

Age Restriction Under 15, Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 15 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician. Requires 15-year-olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent and the parent/guardian is present in the room during the use of the device. Requires 16 and 17-year-olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent.

Arizona

Law: AZ Admin. Code R12-1-1414 A2

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18.

Arkansas

LawArk. Stat. Ann. 20-27-2202

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18.

California

LawCA Bus. and Prof. Code 22706 (b) (3) and (4)

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details. Prohibits minors under 18 from using commercial tanning devices.

Connecticut

LawCT Public Act No. 06-195

Age Restriction Under 17

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices.

Delaware

LawDel. Code Ann. tit, 16 § 30D

Age Restriction  Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

District of Columbia

LawRule 25-F1601

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Florida

Law: FL Stat. Ann. § 381.89(1998)

Age Restriction Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 14 on all visits. Requires parent/guardian consent for minors between 14-18.

Georgia

Law: GA Code Ann. § 31-38-8 (2010)

Age Restriction Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices and requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors at least 14 and under 18 years of age.

Hawaii

Law: HRS § 321-12.2

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Idaho

HB 177 Prohibits minors under 14 from tanning devices. Requires written parent/guardian in-person consent for minors 14 until 18.  Allows minors to use tanning devices when authorized by a physician’s prescription.

Effective:  July 1, 2015

Illinois

Law: IL Admin. Code  Title 77; Sec. 795.190 (c)

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Indiana

Law: IN Code Ann. § 25-8-15.4-16

Age Restriction Under 16; 16 and 17

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices. Minors 16 and 17 require in-person parent/guardian consent.

Kentucky

Law: Ch. 103 of the Acts of 2006 (HB 151)

Age Restriction Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14. Requires parent/guardian consent for someone under 18.  The consent is valid for 1 calendar year.

Louisiana

Law: LA Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:2714 (2005)

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Maine

Law: 10-144 Dept. of Human Services ch. 223 12A (3)(f)

Age Restriction Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices. Parent/guardian must accompany minor between 14-15. Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18. Valid for 1 year.

Maryland

Law: Md. Health Code Ann. § 20-106

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Parent/guardian must give written in-person consent for a minor to use tanning devices.

Massachusetts

Law: MA Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 111 Public Health § 211

Age Restriction under 14; 14-17

Ban Details Parent/guardian must accompany minor under 14. Parent/guardian must sign prior written consent for minors ages 14-17.

Michigan

Law: MI Comp. Laws Ann. § 333.13405

Age Restriction under 18

Ban Details Before someone under 18 can tan, a parent/guardian must present, in-person consent.

Minnesota

Law: MN Stat. Ann. § 325H.08

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Mississippi

Law: Miss Code Ann. § 41-115-1

Age Restriction Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details Parent/guardian must accompany minor under 14. Requires in-person consent for minors under 18,  Valid for 1 year and must specify the number of sessions.

Missouri

Age Restriction Under 17

Ban Details  Requires minors under 17 obtain parent/guardian consent.

Nebraska

Age Restriction Under 16

Ban Details  Requires minors under 16 be accompanied by a parent/guardian and parent/guardian provide in-person consent.

Nevada

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

New Hampshire

Law: NH Rev. Stat. Ann. § tit. XXX 313-A:31

Age Restriction Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details Parent/guardian must accompany minor under 14. Parent must accompany minors between 14 and 18 for their initial use. A licensed physician must authorize use of tanning devices for minors under 14. Minors under 18 must provide in-person parent/guardian consent. Valid for 12 visits.

New Jersey

Law: NJ Rev. Stat. § C. 26:2D-82.1

Age Restriction Under 17; Under 18; under 14

Ban Details  Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices. 17 year olds must obtain parent/guardian consent. Prohibits minors under 14 from using spray tan.

 

New York

Law: NY Public Health Law ch. 3555

Age Restriction under 17; under 18

Ban Details  Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices. Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for 17 year olds.

North Carolina

Laws:  NC Gen. Stat.§ 104E-9.1   15A NCAC 11 .1418

Age Restriction Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning devices without a physician’s written prescription specifying the nature of the medical condition requiring the treatment, the number of exposures, and the time of exposure. Requires parent/guardian consent for minors under 18.

North Dakota

Law: NC Cent. Code § Health and Safety Chapter 23-39

Age Restriction Under 14

Ban Details Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 14 on all visits.

Prohibit minors under 14 from using tanning devices without a physician’s written prescription.  Requires in-person parent/guardian for minors under 18. Valid for 12 months.

Ohio

Law: OH Admin. Code 4713-19-09 (B)

Age Restriction Under 16; Under 18

Ban Details Under 16 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian each time. Ages 16-17 requires signed in-person consent for 90-days, but not for more than 45 visits.

Oregon

Law: OAR 333-119-0090 (2)

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician.

 

Pennsylvania

Age Restriction Under 17

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices.

Rhode Island

Law: Department of Health Rules and Regulations for the Registration of Tanning Facilities Part III; Sec. 9.5  

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Minors under 18 are prohibited from using a tanning facility unless the minor presents a written prescription by a licensed physician or, for every two visits, a parent/guardian has signed a consent form stating they have read and understand the risks. The consent shall be provided in the presence of a facility staff member. Infants and other minors are not allowed in the room with adults who are tanning.

South Carolina

Law: SC Code Ann. § ch. 61, sec. 106-3.7.1

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Requires in-person parent/guardian for minors under 18.

Tennessee

Law: TN Code Ann. § 68-117-104

Age Restriction Under 14; 14-18

Ban Details Parents/guardians of minor under 14 must accompany the child. Minors under 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian who signs a consent form or presents a notarized statement of consent stating they understand the risks and a statement of their relationship with the minor.

Texas

Law: TX Health and Safety Code Ann. § 145.008

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details  Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Utah

Law: UT Code Ann. § 26-15-13

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Parent/guardian must accompany minors under 18 at each visit. Prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from using a tanning device unless the minor (i) has a written order from a physician or (ii) at each time of use the minor is accompanied by a parent/guardian who provides written consent authorizing the minor to use the tanning device.

Vermont

Law: Title 18 V.S.A. § 1513

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using a commercial tanning device.

Virginia

Law: VA Code § 59.1-310.3

Age Restriction Under 15

Ban Details Unemancipated minors under 15 must have a parent/guardian sign a consent form. Valid for 6 months.

Washington

Law: WA Title 18 RCW Business and Professions Chapter 18, 370

Age Restriction Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician.

West Virginia

Law: W.V. Code Ann. §16-45-3

Age Restriction Under 14; Under 18

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 14 from tanning devices. Requires parent/guardian consent for between 14 to 18.

Wisconsin

Law: WI Code Ann. § 255.08 (9)(a)

Age Restriction Under 16

Ban Details Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices.

Wyoming

Law: W.S. 14-3-108

Age Restriction Under 15; 15-18

Ban Details Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 15 on all visits. Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18.  Consent is valid for 12 months.

Source: AIM at Melanoma, StateNet, and NCSL, 2006-2008
Note: List may not be comprehensive but is representative of the state laws that exist. NCSL appreciates additions and corrections. Click here.

Please keep me informed.

Receive comprehensive, breaking news about melanoma, research, legislation, and events.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.