Tanning Legislation in 2014

2014 Indoor Tanning Legislation

Alabama

HB 254 signed into law on 3/3/14, effective 9/1/14

HB 254 Prohibits minors under 15 from using a tanning device unless prescribed by a physician. Requires 15 year olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent and the parent/guardian is present in the room during the use of the device. Requires 16 and 17-year-olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent.

SB 233 Prohibits minors under 15 from using tanning device unless prescribed by a physician. No 15-year-old can use tanning device unless parent/guardian provides written in-person consent and is present in the room during use of the device. 16 and 17-year-olds must provide written in-person consent.

Colorado

HB 1054 Prohibits minors under 18 from using a tanning device unless prescribed by a physician.

Delaware

Signed into law 7/28/14, effective 1/1/15

SB 94 Prohibits minors under 18 from using a tanning device.

Florida

SB 572 Prohibits minors under 18 from using a tanning device unless prescribed by a health care provider indicating the number of sessions. Requires in-person parent/guardian consent and accompaniment for under 14.

HB 499 Prohibits minors under 18 from using a tanning device unless prescribed by a health care provider indicating the number of sessions. Requires in person parent/guardian consent and accompaniment for under 14.

Hawaii

Signed into law 7/2/14, effective immediately

HB 611 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 399 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HB 1783 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices. (introduced 1/17/14)

SB 2221 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices. (introduced 1/16/14)

Indiana

Signed into law on 3/25/14, effective 7/1/14

SB 50 Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices.

Iowa

carryover

HF 257 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SF 248 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HF 2030 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SF 2174 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SF 2275 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Kansas

HB 2435 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Kentucky

HB 310 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a healthcare provider.

Louisiana

Signed into law on 5/23/14, effective 8/1/14

HB 746 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices

Maryland

SB 410 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HB 310 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Massachusetts

carryover

SB 1105 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 1904 Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician. Requires accompaniment & parent/guardian consent for 16 & 17 year olds. Bill accompanies Senate, No. 1105. (introduced 2014)

Michigan

carryover

HB 4405 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Minnesota

HF 2402 signed into law 5/23/14, effective 7/1/14

HF 676 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SF 816 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HF 2177 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HF 2402 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Missouri

Signed into law on 6/5/14, effective 8/28/14

HB 1411 Minors under 17 must provide in-person parent/guardian consent.

Nebraska

Signed into law on 3/28/14, effective 7/18/14

LB 132 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Ameded to:
Requires minors under 16 be accompanied by a parent/guardian and parent/guardian provide in-person consent.

New Hampshire

HB 1351 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

North Carolina

HB 18 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

S 167 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Ohio

SB 113 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning beds. Allows for a doctor to prescribe tanning device use.

HB 131 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices. Allows for a doctor to prescribe tanning device use.

Oklahoma

SB 345 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 816 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices. Allows for a doctor to prescribe tanning device use.

Pennsylvania

HB 1259 signed into law 5/6/14, effective 7/5/14

HB 977 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices. Provides for some regulation.

HB 1259 Prohibits minors under 17 from using tanning devices. Parental consent for 17 year olds.

SB 1020 Prohibits minors under 16 from using tanning devices. Allows for a doctor to prescribe tanning device use. Minors 16 or older and under than 18 must have parental consent. All minors shall be accompanied by parent/legal guardian in order to use a tanning device for the first time at each facility.

Virginia

HB 773 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 479 Prohibits minors under 15 from using tanning devices. Unemancipated minors age 15 to 17 must provide parent/guardian written consent.

HB 681 Prohibits minors under 15 from using tanning devices. Unemancipated minors age 15 to 17 must provide parent/guardian written consent.

Washington

SB 6065 signed into law on 3/27/14, effective 6/12/14
SB 5521 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 5455 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

HB 1585 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

SB 6065 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices unless prescribed by a physician. (introduced 2014)

Wisconsin

SB 590 Requires minors 16 and 17 provide in-person parent/guardian consent.

West Virginia

HB 2768 Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices

Together we have made progess. Let’s continue the push for reshaping melanoma research.

State Laws with Tanning Restrictions for Minors

Alabama

Effective: 9/1/14

Age Restriction: Under 15, Under 18

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 15 from using a tanning device unless prescribed by a physician. Requires 15 year olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent and the parent/guardian is present in the room during the use of the device. Requires 16 and 17-year-olds to provide in-person parent/guardian consent.

Arizona

Law: AZ Admin. Code R12-1-1414 A2

Age Restriction: under 18

Ban Details: Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for someone under 18.

Arkansas

Law: Ark. Stat. Ann. § 20-27-2202

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for someone under 18.

California

Law: CA Bus. and Prof. Code § 22706 (b) (3) and (4)

Age Restrictions: under 18

Ban Details: Minors under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a commercial tanning device.

Connecticut

Law: CT Public Act No. 06-195

Age Restriction: under 17

Ban Details: Prohibits minors under 17 to use tanning device.

Delaware

Law: Del. Code Ann. tit, 16 § 30D

Age Restriction: Under 14, Under 18

Details:

  • Prohibits minors under 14 unless medically necessary and provides in person parent/legal guardian provides consent. Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors between 14 and under 18 to submit a consent form.  Valid for 1 year.
  • Prohibits minors under 18 from indoor tanning devices.

District of Columia

Law: Rule 25-F1601

Age Restriction: Under 14, Ages 14-15, and Under 16-17

Details:

  • Parents/guardians must accompany children 14 – 15 on all visits.
  • Prohibits minors under 14 from using tanning equipment. Minors 14 & 15 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian while the device is in use.
  • Minors between 14-17 must obtain in-person parent/guardian consent.

Florida

Law: FL Stat. Ann. § 381.89(1998)

Age Restriction: under 14; 14-18

Details:

  • Parents/guardians must accompany minors under 14 on all visits.
  • Requires parent/guardian consent for minors between 14-18, agrees minor will use protective eyewear.

Georgia

Law: GA Code Ann. § 31-38-8 (2010)

Age Restriction: Under 14, 14-18

Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from using a tanning device and requires in-person parent/guardian consent for minors 14 years of age and older but under 18 years of age.

Hawaii

Effective: 7/2/14

Age Restrictions: Under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

Illinois

Law: IL Admin. Code Title 77; Sec. 795.190 (c)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning device.

Indiana

Law: IN Code Ann. § 25-8-15.4-15 and 16

Effective: 7/1/14

Age Restriction: Under 16, 16 and 17, and between 16 and 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 16.
  • Requires in-person parent/guardian consent for someone under 18.
  • Prohibits minors under 16 from using the device. Minors 16 and 17 requires in person parent/guardian consent

Kentucky

Law: Ch. 103 of the Acts of 2006 (HB 151)

 

Age Restriction: Under 14, between 14 and 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14.
  • Requires parent/guardian consent for someone under 18; agrees to use protective eyewear.  The consent is valid for 1 calendar year.

Louisiana

Law: LA Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40:2714 (2005)

 

 

 

 

Effective: 8/1/14

Age Restriction: Under 14, between 14 and 18, and under 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14.
  • Requires in person parent/guardian consent for minors between 14 and 18; agrees to use protective eyewear.
  • Prohibits minors under 18 from using the device.

Maine

Law: 10-144 Dept. of Human Services ch. 223 12A (3)(f)

Age Restriction: Under 14 and under 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children between 14-15.
  • Prohibits minors under 14. Requires in person parent/guardian consent for minors under 18. Valid for 1 year.

Maryland

Law: Md. Health Code Ann. § 20-106

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Parent/guardian must give written consent in the presence of tanning facility owner, employee or operator in order for a minor to use tanning devices.

Massachusetts

Law: MA Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 111 Public Health § 211

Age Restriction: Under 14, between 14 and 17

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14
  • Parent/guardian must sign prior written consent for minors age 14-17.

Michigan

Law: MI Comp. Laws Ann. § 333.13405

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Before someone under 18 can tan, a parent/guardian must present, in the presence of the owner or operator, a statement similar to other customers that they read and understand the risks tanning poses to their child and that the child will wear protective eyewear.

Minnesota

Law: MN Stat. Ann. § 325H.08

Effective: 7/1/14

Age Restriction: Under 16 and under 18

Details: 

  • Tanning device operator must witness a parent/guardian sign and date a warning statement.
  • Prohibits minors under 18 from using the device.

Mississippi

Law: Miss Code Ann. § 41-115-1

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14.
  • No one under 18 is allowed to use tanning devices without written consent from a parent/guardian which is signed at the facility. The consent is only valid for 1 year and must specified the number of sessions.

Missouri

Effective: 8/28/14

Age Restriction: Under 17

Details: Requires minors under 17 obtain parent/guardian consent.

Nebraska

Effective 7/18/14

Age Restriction: Under 16

Details: Requires minors under 16 be accompanied by a parent/guardian and parent/guardian provide in-person consent

Nevada

Age Restrictions: Under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning devices.

New Hampshire

Law: NH Rev. Stat. Ann. § tit. XXX 313-A:31

Age Restriction: Under 14, between 14 and 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 14. Parent must accompany minors between 14 and 18 for their initial use.
  • A licensed physician must authorize use of the device for minors under 14. Minors under 18 must have a parent/guardian sign, in the presence of the operator, a written consent to use the facility. Valid for 12 visits.

New Jersey

Law: NJ Rev. Stat. § C. 26:2D-82.1

Age Restriction: Under 17, under 18, and under 14

Details: Prohibits minors under 17 from using indoor tanning device, 17 year olds must obtain parent/guardian consent, minors under 14 prohibited from using spray tan.

New York

Law: NY Public Health Law ch. 3555

Age Restriction: Under 17, Under 18

Details: Children under 17 prohibited. Parent/guardian must sign a consent form in the presence of the facility operator if the minor is 17, indicating they have read the warnings and the minor agrees to wear safety goggles.

North Carolina

Laws:

Age Restriction: Under 14

Details:

  • Children under 14 are prohibited from using tanning devices without a physician’s written prescription specifying the nature of the medical condition requiring the treatment, the number of exposures, and the time of exposure.
  • Children under 18 must have signed permission from a parent/guardian to use the facilities.

North Dakota

Law: ND Cent. Code § Health and Safety Chapter 23-39

Age Restriction: Under 14

Details

  • Parents/guardians must accompany children under 14 on all visits.
  • Children under 14 are prohibited from using tanning devices without a physician’s written prescription.  For minors under 18, parents/guardians must sign, in the presence of a tanning employee, a consent they read the warnings, agree to the terms of use, and agree the minor will wear FDA-approved eyewear.  Permission is good for 12 months. Punishment for violation is specified in the law.

Ohio

Law: OH Admin. Code 4713-19-09 (B)

Age Restriction: under 18

Detail: Facility operators must obtain written consent from a parent/guardian prior to any tanning session (signed at the facility) that authorizes the number of sessions the minor may purchase.

Oregon

Law: OAR 333-119-0090 (2)

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using tanning device unless prescribed by a physican.

Pennsylvania

Effective: 7/5/14

Age Restriction: Under 17

Details: Prohibits minors under 17 from using the device

Rhode Island

Law: Department of Health Rules and Regulations for the Registration of Tanning Facilities Part III; Sec. 9.5

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: Minors under 18 are prohibited from using a tanning facility unless the minor presents a written prescription by a licensed physician or, for every two visits, a parent/guardian has signed a consent form stating they have read and understand the risks. The consent shall be provided in the presence of a facility staff member. Infants and other minors are not allowed in the room with adults who are tanning.

South Carolina

Law: SC Code Ann. § ch. 61, sec. 106-3.7.1

Age Restriction: Under 18

Details: People under the age of 18 must have written permission from a parent or guardian signed in the presence of the tanning facility operator.

Tennessee

Law: TN Code Ann. § 68-117-104

Age Restriction: Under 14, between 14 and 18

Details: 

  • Parents/guardians of children under 14 must accompany the child.
  • People under 18 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian who signs a consent form or presents a notarized statement of consent stating they understand the risks and a statement of their relationship with the minor.

Texas

Law: TX Health and Safety Code Ann. § 145.008

Age Restrictions: Under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 18 from using a tanning device.

Utah

Law: UT Code Ann. § 26-15-13

Age Restrictions: Under 18

Details:

  • Parent/guardian must accompany children under the age of 18 at each visit.
  • Prohibits anyone under the age of 18 from using a tanning bed unless the minor (i) has a written order from a physician or (ii) at each time of use the minor is accompanied by a parent/guardian who provides written consent authorizing the minor to use the tanning device.

Vermont

Law: Title 18 V.S.A. § 1513 

Details: Minors under the age of 18 are prohibited from using a commercial tanning device.

Virginia

Law: VA Code § 59.1-310.3

Age Restrictions: Under 15

Details: Un-emancipated minors under 15 must have a parent/guardian sign a consent form. Valid for 6 months.

Washington

Effective: 6/12/14

Details: Under 18 Prohibits minors under 18 from using the device unless prescribed by a physician

West Virginia

Law: W.V. Code Ann. §16-45-3.

Age Restrictions: Under 14 and under 18

Details: Prohibits minors under 14 from tanning device. Requires parent/guardian consent for between 14 to 18.

Wisconsin

Law: WI Code Ann. § 255.08 (9)(a)

Age Restrictions: Under 16

Details: No one under age 16 is permitted to use tanning devices.

Wyoming

Law: W.S. 14-3-108

Age Restriction: Under 15, between 15 and 18

Details: Parents/guardians must accompany children under 15 on all visits. Requires parents/guardians of minors under 18 to sign a consent form in the presence of the owner or employee of the facility.  Consent is valid for 12 months.

Source: AIM at Melanoma, StateNet, and NCSL, 2006-2008

Note: List may not be comprehensive but is representative of the state laws that exist. NCSL appreciates additions and corrections. Click here.

Please keep me informed.

Receive comprehensive, breaking news about melanoma, research, legislation, and events.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.