The Future of Melanoma:
What to Anticipate in 2023

With NYU Langone Perlmutter Cancer Center

NYU Langone Health is one of the nation’s premier academic medical centers. Their trifold mission to serve, teach, and discover is achieved daily through an integrated academic culture devoted to excellence in patient care, education, and research.

Date: Wednesday –December 7, 2022
Time:  7:00 PM (ET)| 6:00 PM (CT) | 5:00 PM (MT) | 4:00 PM (PT)
(double-check your local time with this time zone converter)

This one-hour presentation is offered virtually for melanoma patients, family members, and loved ones. Please register to attend HERE.

The Future of Melanoma: What to Anticipate in 2023

Moderated by Samantha Guild, President, AIM at Melanoma
With Janice Mehnert, MD and Erica B. Friedman, MD, from NYU Langone’s Perlmutter Cancer Center.
Drs. Mehnert and Friedman will discuss the following:

– S1801: Neoadjuvant and Adjuvant Pembrolizumab for Patients With Stage IIIB to IV Melanoma
– Phase 3 DREAMseq trial
– Margins in melanoma
– Management of patients with positive sentinel lymph nodes

Presenters

Janice M. Mehnert, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, NYU Grossman School of Medicine
Associate Director for Clinical Research,
Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU
Director, Melanoma and Cutaneous Medical Oncology

“My most rewarding career experiences have involved using precision oncology and immunotherapy to identify effective treatments for advanced cancer, often with less toxicity than traditional approaches such as chemotherapy. I have been part of a team whose work led to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) approval of immunotherapy for aggressive neuroendocrine tumors such as small cell lung cancer and Merkel cell carcinoma. For the last decade, I have also led a National Cancer Institute (NCI)–funded laboratory focused on developing more precise strategies for the management of melanoma.”

Erica B. Friedman, MD
Specialties: Melanoma Surgery, Surgical Oncology
Laura and Isaac Perlmutter Cancer Center at NYU

“I believe in staying up-to-date with the latest research and continually asking questions to improve the way we treat patients. My research focuses on improving surgical techniques to minimize risk of cancer recurrence and maximize functional and cosmetic outcomes. I am also interested in the evolving role of surgery in the treatment of advanced melanoma. I am an active member of the Society of Surgical Oncology and the American College of Surgeons.”