This virtual and in-person symposium is presented by AIM at Melanoma and UPMC Hillman Cancer Center held at UPMC Hillman Cancer Center. 

UPMC Hillman Cancer Center is a National Cancer Institute (NCI)-designated Comprehensive Cancer Center. They offer cancer care, research, and education for cancer researchers.

Date: Saturday, March 16, 2024
Time: 8:00 AM (ET)| 7:00 AM (CT) | 6:00 AM (MT) | 5:00 AM (PT)
Format: Presented both virtually and in-person; Registration required for both formats; please register below
Symposium Location: The Herberman Conference Center is located on the second floor of the UPMC Cancer Pavilion at 5150 Centre Ave., Pittsburgh, PA 15232. The conference center is next to the UPMC Shadyside Medical Building.

Presenters & Topics

8:00 AM ET

Registration For In-Person Attendees

8:30 AM ET

Welcome & Opening Remarks
John M. Kirkwood, MD
Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine
Usher Professor of Medicine, Dermatology and Translational Science
Co-Leader, Melanoma and Skin Cancer Program
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

Each presentation includes a 5-minute Q & A Session

8:40 AM ET

Management of Side Effects for BRAF/MEK Inhibitors
Melissa Wilson, PA-C, MPAS
Physician Assistant, Senior
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

9:05 AM ET

Preventative Skin Care
Darcy Ploucha, PA-C, MPAS
Physician Assistant, Senior
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

9:30 AM ET

Tissue Banking: Samples are Only Part of the Issue. What About the Data?
Mary Horak, BS, CCRP
Clinical Research Services
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

9:55 AM ET

Can We Predict Who Will Respond to Immunotherapy?
Yana Najjar, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

10:20 AM ET

10 Minute Break

10:30 AM ET

Role of Diet and Gut Microbiota in Determining Response and irAEs
Diwakar Davar, MD
Assistant Professor of Medicine
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center

10:55 AM ET

Pediatric Melanoma – The Time is Now for a Standard Treatment Approach
Brittani Seynnaeve, MD, MS
Associate Fellowship Program Director
Pediatric Melanoma Program Director
Division of Pediatric Hematology/Oncology, Department of Pediatrics
UPMC Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh

11:20 AM ET

Patient Resources
Ann Garst Taylor
Director Community Engagement
AIM at Melanoma Foundation

Registration Form